8321791621_cfb54dd250_o_d
One of the first websites I worked on (no longer active)

I must have mellowed over the years I think (saying that, I’m only in my second decade), as before I used to want to have as many options as is humanly possible, I liked to make things as complex as I could within reason to make it more satisfying to use. I used to have a million different things going on in my WordPress dashboards, I used to run custom roms on my android phone with stupid launchers, lockscreens and the likes.

Basically I was a bit of a twat. But as I’ve aged I’ve decided that it is actually a lack of things going on that is better, I mean, just look at how clean and simple the Medium editor is, it’s just a blank white page with a cursor on it, like, wow, it just works. It’s really nice. But I have some sort of love with wordpress, I just love it for no discernable reason.

Every time I use it it seems to abuse me in some way, one of the sites that I used to maintain currently looks like it’s about to just die in the street as instabilities have occurred with parts of the system becoming outdated. I once lost an entire site after a dodgy upgrade, this was before I learnt of the beauty of backups. But for some reason I keep finding myself drawn back to its strange aura.

I mean in return I sure do get a lot, one particular feature I have missed from medium is the ability to have pages, just normal pages and although I can live without them plugins were a nice addition too. And after being on here for a few months now I have come to recognise that perhaps medium is not the place for my sort of content as medium seems to be a place for long form story writing, of mini novels almost (as indicated by a little sign on all posts telling you how long it should take to read) where as my content is usually just a companion piece to my videos or works on other websites.

This is by no means me throwing in the towel on medium completely, no no, but rather a cry for help. For the time being I’m probably going to continue posting here but then again there is always that call for me to return back to my WordPress roots, especially since WordPress.com now offers hosting and a domain name for a few bits of shrapnel a month (and since they manage it, that’ll stop me from ruining the installation again).

Oh what am I to do? Well for starters, I need to know when to stop jumping around all over the place like an excited dog for one thing… I’ll probably stick to medium for now and cross post over on WordPress for a bit… yeah, that sounds good.

Sorry about that rambling there, sometimes seeing it in words helps me to think!

2 thoughts on “Ode to WordPress

  1. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the
    images on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

